

2009 BYLINER HONOREES ANNOUNCED

OKLAHOMA CITY (Jan. 30, 2009) — Seven Oklahoma City women will be honored by The Oklahoma City Chapter of the Association for Women in Communications as 2009 Byliner Award recipients. The 2009 recipients of the Byliner Award include Miki Farris, Martha Ferretti, Molly Fritch, Cathy O'Connor, Dr. Marion Paden, Sandra Gales Shapard and Billie Thrash.

The Association for Women in Communications Byliner Awards recognizes the women who have made a significant contribution to the community through professional and volunteer achievements.

"The Oklahoma City Chapter of the Association for Women in Communications is proud to recognize local women making an impact in our community. This year's group of honorees exudes strength, wisdom and passion. Through the Byliner event, our Chapter is able to provide scholarships to young women working toward a degree in communications," said Rachel Klein, Oklahoma City AWC Byliner co-chair.

Miki Farris, executive director and founder of Infant Crisis Services, Inc. (ICS), is being recognized for her commitment to Child Advocacy.

Martha J. Ferretti, chairman of the Department of Rehabilitation Sciences at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center, is honored in the area of Medicine.

Molly Ross Fritch, founder and current chairperson of the SHOUT Foundation, is being honored in the new category of Emerging Byliner. SHOUT is a statewide peer support group for young women cancer survivors and is Oklahoma City's first young women's cancer survivor group.

Cathy O'Connor, assistant city manager for The City of Oklahoma City, is honored for her commitment to Economic Development. O'Connor oversees the departments of finance, planning, information technology, the city clerk's office and public information and marketing.

Dr. Marion Paden, vice president for enrollment and student services at Oklahoma City Community College, is honored for her accomplishments in education.

Sandra Gales Shapard, an author, publisher and teacher, is being honored in the field of Communications. Shapard has five published books of poetry and, from 1997-2005, was publisher and president of NightOwl Publications, Inc.

Billie Thrash, interim director of Music Theatre at the University of Central Oklahoma, is recognized in the category of Arts. Thrash is an advocate and supporter of the arts and this is evident in the many volunteer roles she has taken on for the Arts Council of Oklahoma City.

Continued from page 1

The 51st annual AWC Byliner Awards banquet is at 6:30 p.m. on Feb. 5 at the Oklahoma City Golf and Country Club. Proceeds from the event funds educational opportunities for members and scholarships to students pursuing a degree in communications.

Event sponsors deserving recognition are Chesapeake Energy Corporation, Inasmuch Foundation, Josephine Freede, Ann Simmons Alspaugh, Oklahoma City Community College, The Oklahoman and Third Degree Advertising.

In-kind sponsors include Maxus Creative/Saxum PR, Southwestern Stationery and Bank Supply, McNeese Fitzgerald Associates and Wolf Mailing and Marketing Services.

For more information, contact Byliner co-chair Margo Ward at 405.924.5992.

The Association for Women in Communications Byliner Awards recognizes the accomplishments of women who have made a significant contribution to our community through their professional and volunteer achievements.

These seven outstanding women will be feted at the 51st annual AWC Byliner Awards banquet Feb. 5 at 6:30 p.m. at the Oklahoma City Golf and Country Club. AWC uses proceeds from the event to offer education and resources to members and scholarships to students pursuing a degree in communications.

For more information, contact Byliner co-chairs Rachel Klein at 405.236.8441 ext. 234 or Margo Ward at 405.924.5992.

###